top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmmalyn Grace

Tears

This poem isn't about disbelief in God's power; it's a sort of desperate surrender to God in the midst of something I realize I'll never be able to escape without Him.


It's the realization that I can't even come to Him for help without His help.

 

They say You catch our tears inside Your bottle

But what if I'm so broken I can't cry?

Will Your love search out the hurt my heart has hidden

Or do You even care to love this ugly life?


Can You cry with a soul drowned in unshed tears?

Is there a place in Your heart for my pain?

Do Your eyes hold the tears that my own cannot?

Are Your arms open to this filthy stray?


They say to sing through every trial and heartache

But what if the sheer pain takes all my breath?

Can You hear the song my air-starved soul is screaming

Or do You care enough to listen once again?


Can You sing to a heart that has lost its song?

Will Your voice breathe new life to what's dead?

Sing Your covenant song over this empty child

Can Your symphony soften a heart of lead?


They say when trouble comes, just hold on tighter

If I cling to You I'll never be alone

But it's been so long, my hands are getting weaker

What if Satan's grip is stronger than my own?


Will You carry the one who can't grasp Your hand?

Is Your heart still a home for my soul?

If I can't keep my grip, will You still keep Yours?

Can I trust I'll be held if I let go?

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page